MLB Player Stats - Ivan Nova - Pittsburgh

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#46
Ivan Nova
ERA W-L K
4.07 9-9 109
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-5 / 240
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1987 Birthplace: Palenque, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 15 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 9-9, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1 on Saturday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 4.07 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 8-9, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 5-1 on Saturday. Nova struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST11:28 PM CST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Nova is away from the Pirates for a personal issue and won't start Sunday against the Braves.
Analysis: The Pirates haven't said how long Nova will be away.
Aug. 28 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 7-9, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Tuesday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 7-8, allowing two runs on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Tuesday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 7-7, allowing one run on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 1-0 on Thursday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 7-6, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-5 on Thursday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed four runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the New York Mets 5-4 on Friday. Nova struck out one, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 22 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 6-6, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-2 on Sunday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 14 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST1:44 PM CST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed one run on seven hits in 4.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 9 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 5-6, allowing three runs on eight hits in 5.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Washington Nationals 6-3 on Monday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 4 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE12:09 AM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 4-6, allowing seven runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-3 on Tuesday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed three runs on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the New York Mets 5-3 on Wednesday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed three hits without giving up a run in 8.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Friday. Nova struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 16 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 4-5, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Saturday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 10 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 3-5, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 7-1 on Sunday. Nova struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 26 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Nova (sprained right ring finger) has been activated from the DL and will start Sunday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Nova threw a two-inning simulated game Tuesday and came out of that OK. The right-hander has been on the DL since May 25 and was really struggling prior to being sidelined, going 0-4 with a 7.61 ERA in five starts last month.
May 24 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST1:31 PM CST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 2-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Thursday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 2-4, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Friday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Nova is 0-4 in his last six starts.
May 13 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 2-3, allowing four runs on eight hits in 5.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-0 on Sunday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 5.01 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 9 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST10:06 PM CST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed five runs on six hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-6 on Tuesday. Nova struck out two, ending the game with a 4.84 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 2-2, allowing eight runs - five earned - on 11 hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 9-3 on Wednesday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST1:17 PM CST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed six hits without giving up a run in 8.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 1-0 on Thursday. Nova struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed one run on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 7-3 on Sunday. Nova struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Nova improved to 3-0 in three career starts against the Marlins with an ERA of 1.66.
Apr. 10 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Ivan Nova improved to 1-1, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-5 on Tuesday. Nova struck out six, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST7:37 PM CST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Ivan Nova fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-3 on Wednesday. Nova struck out three, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Ivan Nova allowed two runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 13-10 on Friday. Nova struck out four, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 NYY 1 2 0 - 1 10 7 0 42.0 44 22 21 4 17 2 26 1.45 4.50
2011 NYY 16 4 0 - 0 28 27 0 165.1 163 74 68 13 57 3 98 1.33 3.70
2012 NYY 12 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 170.1 194 100 95 28 56 3 153 1.47 5.02
2013 NYY 9 6 0 - 0 23 20 3 139.1 135 49 48 9 44 3 116 1.28 3.10
2014 NYY 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 32 19 19 6 6 0 12 1.84 8.27
2015 NYY 6 11 0 - 0 17 17 0 94.0 99 54 53 13 33 0 63 1.40 5.07
2016 NYY 7 6 1 - 1 21 15 0 97.1 107 54 53 19 25 1 75 1.36 4.90
2016 Pit 5 2 0 - 0 11 11 3 64.2 68 27 22 4 3 0 52 1.10 3.06
2016 Tot 12 8 1 - 1 32 26 3 162.0 175 81 75 23 28 1 127 1.25 4.17
2017 Pit 11 14 0 - 0 31 31 2 187.0 203 96 86 29 36 2 131 1.28 4.14
2018 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 27 27 0 152.2 160 75 69 25 31 3 109 1.25 4.07
Career 78 64 1 - 2 200 187 8 1133.1 1205 570 534 150 308 17 835 1.34 4.24

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 NYY 28 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 NYY 28 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2013 NYY 23 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 NYY 21 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Pit 11 22 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .136 .136 .136
2016 Tot 32 26 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .115 .115 .115
2017 Pit 31 51 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 31 0 0 .020 .020 .020
2018 Pit 27 51 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 30 0 0 .020 .020 .020
Career 200 142 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 92 0 0 .042 .042 .042

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 NYY Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32
Career 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1617 97 89 92.9 67.35
Curveball 501 84 76 80.6 20.87
Changeup 283 90 84 86.5 11.79

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.